Senior Players Return For Wakefield Friendly

5th January 2018, 14:58

Senior Players Return For Wakefield Friendly

Richard Marshall has made five changes to the squad that lost to the Bradford Bulls ahead of Halifax RLFC’s first 2018 fixture.

The side, who will take on Wakefield Trinity involves several familiar first-team faces who sat out of the 22-6 Boxing Day defeat.

Chris Cullimore, Curtis Davies, Morgan Punchard and James Woodburn-Hall all miss out, despite featuring in the previous 20-man squad, as Marshall eyes the start of the Rugby League Championship season.

Meanwhile, Adam Tangata’s spell on the side-line continues alongside Harry Kidd, whilst Halifax’s two trialists, Adam Brook and Kian Morgan, retain their places.

Instead, the 21-man squad sees the inclusions of senior players Simon Grix, Ben Kaye, Will Sharp, Steve Tyrer and skipper Scott Murrell, for the match at Belle Vue.

The returning quintet will offer plenty of vital experience to a youthful Fax side, who gave a good account of themselves at Odsal, albeit in a losing cause.

Wakefield, who were impressive throughout the 2017 Super League season, finished 5th at the end of the Super 8’s stage, narrowly missing out on a top four place by one point.

Trinity also lost their opening pre-season game, losing 17-10 to Leeds in their Boxing Day outing, and the home side, like Fax, are still experimenting with their squad.

Chris Chester too makes several changes, including the return of Scott Grix, who will face off against his brother, Simon. 

The game kicks off at 2 pm, Beaumont Legal Stadium (Belle Vue), January 7th.

We hope to see as many of you there as possible as we continue our excellent preparation for the 2018 season.


Fax 21-man squad:

Adam Brook (Trialist)

Chester Butler

Will Calcott

Connor Davies

Zak Dewhirst

Jack Fairbank

Jacob Fairbank

Simon Grix

Ben Heaton

Ben Johnston

Sion Jones

Ben Kaye

Conor McGrath

Brandon Moore

Kian Morgan (Trialist)

Frazer Morris

Scott Murrell

Will Sharp

James Stringer

Jordan Syme

Steve Tyrer


Trinity 23-man squad:

Christian Ackroyd
Chris Annakin
Matty Ashurst
Tinirau Arona
Joe Arundel
Jordan Baldwinson
James Batchelor
Mason Caton-Brown
Jordan Crowther
Anthony England
Liam Finn
Scott Grix
Ryan Hampshire
Keegan Hirst
Justin Horo
Tom Johnstone
Max Jowitt
Danny Kirmond
Lee Kershaw
Reece Lyne
Jacob Miller
Pauli Pauli
Kyle Wood

By Dan Senior