Marshall, Murrell and Moore nominated for awards

11th September 2018, 14:32

Marshall, Murrell and Moore nominated for awards

By Jacob Kilbride

Halifax RLFC trio Richard Marshall, Scott Murrell and Brandon Moore have been nominated in the 2018 Betfred Championship awards.

Head coach Marshall - who won the award in 2015 - is shortlisted for Coach of the Year after guiding the club to a Super 8s Qualifiers finish for the second successive season.

Marshall is shortlisted alongside London Broncos' Danny Ward and Sylvain Houles of Toulouse.

Captain Murrell has been an ever-present for Fax on field this season, starting in every regular season league match, contributing six tries and a drop goal.

The 33-year-old is among the four-man Player of the Year shortlist, with Toulouse's Mark Kheiralah and Johnathon Ford and Luke Briscoe of Featherstone also nominated.

Reserves product and hooker Brandon Moore is one of the three nominees for the Championship Young Player of the Year, having played 28 times this season, scoring three tries.

Harry Newman of Featherstone and Matt Costello from Sheffield are the other two players shortlisted.

The winners will be announced at the 2018 Betfred Championship and League 1 annual dinner in Manchester on Tuesday, September 25.

The shortlist: 

Championship Player of the Year: Luke Briscoe (Featherstone Rovers), Scott Murrell (Halifax RLFC), Mark Kheirallah (Toulouse Olympique XIII), Johnathon Ford (Toulouse Olympique XIII)

Championship Coach of the Year: Danny Ward (London Broncos), Richard Marshall (Halifax RLFC), Sylvain Houles (Toulouse Olympique XIII)

Championship Young Player of the Year: Harry Newman (Featherstone Rovers), Brandon Moore (Halifax RLFC), Matt Costello (Sheffield Eagles)