Toulouse Olympique vs Halifax RLFC: Match Preview

21st April 2019, 15:06

Toulouse Olympique vs Halifax RLFC: Match Preview

By Jacob Kilbride | Photo by Simon Hall

The Match

Halifax RLFC will be aiming to bounce back from Good Friday's defeat to Bradford Bulls when they travel to Toulouse tomorrow afternoon (2:30pm kick-off UK time).

Toulouse currently sit second in the Betfred Championship, four clear of eight-placed Halifax and four adrift of leaders Toronto Wolfpack.

Form Guide

Toulouse suffered a shock 44-16 defeat away to Sheffield in their last outing, ending a run of seven straight victories, which included wins over Toronto, Featherstone and Bradford.

Halifax fell to a 33-26 defeat to rivals Bradford on Good Friday but had won their previous three matches prior to that.

Head to Head

Toulouse hold the slight advantage in the previous matches between the two sides, with four wins in the last six meetings of the two sides.

Chris Centrone scored twice in a 28-6 defeat for Fax in the most recent meeting of the two sides, in last year’s Super 8s Qualifiers.

Halifax won the preceding match though, a 19-14 win inspired by Shane Grady’s late try, and won 16-8 away to Toulouse in 2017, with Ben Johnston the late try-scorer.

Team News

Halifax coach Richard Marshall makes just one change to the 19-man squad that faced Bradford, with Liam Cooper coming in for the injured Ben Kaye.

Captain Scott Murrell misses out due to abductor problem while Chester Butler also remains sidelined.

Shane Grady (ACL), Ben Johnston (hand) and prop Sion Jones (knee) are still out with longer-term injuries.


Halifax: Ed Barber, Will Calcott, Reece Chapman-Smith, Liam Cooper, Curtis Davies, Jacob Fairbank, Dan Fleming, Ben Kavanagh, Harry Kidd, Kevin Larroyer, Quentin Laulu-Togaga’e, Brandon Moore, Elliot Morris, Shaun Robinson, James Saltonstall, Will Sharp, Steve Tyrer, Ben White, James Woodburn-Hall

Toulouse: Mark Kheirallah, Bastien Ader, Paul Marcon, Johnathon Ford, Stan Robin, Maxime Puech, Anthony Marion, Joe Bretherton, Con Mika, Rhys Curran, Dean Parata, Ben Evans, Tyla Hepi, Clement Boyer, James Bell, Ilias Bergal, Jordan Dezaria, Mathieu Jussaume, William Barthau